Section Chairs


NAME INSTITUTION SECTION

Tanja Aalberts
t.e.aalberts@vu.nl

VU University Amsterdam (S28) Law's Violence

Betul Aydogan Unal
betul.aydogan@ege.edu.tr

Ege University (S33) Non-Europeans' Europe: Between Violence and Amity

Salvatore Babones
sbabones@inbox.com

University of Sydney (S11) Economic Growth in Middle-Income Countries

André Barrinha
andre.barrinha@canterbury.ac.uk

Canterbury Christ Church University (S46) Rethinking International Security: Technology, Law and Theory

Claes Belfrage
c.belfrage@liverpool.ac.uk

University of Liverpool (S08) Critical International Political Economy in a Turbulent World

Valeria Bello
vbello@unu.edu

United Nations University (S25) International Migration and International Security: From the Securitization of Migration to Making Migration Secure for People?

Pinar Bilgin
pbilgin@bilkent.edu.tr

Bilkent University (S06) Construction(s) of the field of IR

Shampa Biswas
biswassa@whitman.edu

Whitman College (S10) Decolonizing International Relations

Corneliu Bjola
corneliu.bjola@qeh.ox.ac.uk

University of Oxford (S52) Symbolic Violence in Diplomatic Practice

Berit Bliesemann de Guevara
beb14@aber.ac.uk

Aberystwyth University (S21) Governance in Geopolitical Landscapes in Transition: Global Networks, Violence, and Order-Making

Tonny Brems Knudsen
tbrems@ps.au.dk

Aarhus University (S58) Violence and the English School of IR

Elisabetta Brighi
e.brighi@westminster.ac.uk

University of Westminster (S23) Imitation, Desire and Violence: Transdisciplinary Mimetic Approaches to Global Politics

Ian Bruff
ianbruff@gmail.com

Manchester University (S34) Philosophical perspectives on Emotions, Violence and Peace-building Processes

Christian Bueger
buegercm@cf.ac.uk

Cardiff University (S30) Maritime Security

Sarah Bulmer
S.E.Bulmer@exeter.ac.uk

University of Exeter (S09) Critical Military Studies

Sydney Calkin
sac525@york.ac.uk

University of York (S15) Feminist Global Political Economy

Antonio Cerella
ACerella@uclan.ac.uk

University of Central Lancashire (S23) Imitation, Desire and Violence: Transdisciplinary Mimetic Approaches to Global Politics

David Chandler
d.chandler@wmin.ac.uk

University of Westminster (S56) Violence, Agency and Critique in a World of Complexity

Alejandro Colás
a.colas@bbk.ac.uk

Birkbeck College (S61) Violence, Resistance and Emancipation in World Politics: Comparative Perspectives

Laura Considine
l.considine@leeds.ac.uk

University of Leeds (S44) Reflective Methodologies and the Challenge of Doing Methods

Noé Cornago
noe.cornago@ehu.es

University of the Basque Country (S64) Writing International Relations by Other Means: Rethinking the Aesthetic Path

Matt Davies
Matt.Davies@ncl.ac.uk

Newcastle University (S39) Popular and Cultural Configurations of International Politics: Artifacts of the Popular Beyond Mimesis

Benjamin de Carvalho
bdc@nupi.no

Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (S22) Historical International Relations

Naná de Graaff
n.a.de.graaff@vu.nl

VU University Amsterdam (S12) Empires, Elites and War

Nicole Deitelhoff
nicole.deitelhoff@normativeorders.net

Goethe-University Frankfurt (S35) Political Violence and Resistance

Donatella della Porta
donatella.dellaporta@eui.eu

European University Institute (S35) Political Violence and Resistance

Rosita Di Peri
rosita.diperi@unito.it

University of Torino (S24) (In)security in the Global Mediterranean: Between Conflict and Cooperation

Florian Edelmann
fle@aber.ac.uk

Aberystwyth University (S05) Conflict Dynamics and Sub-State Political Violence: (Re)thinking Contentious Politics in Times of Unrest

Emmy Eklundh
emmy.eklundh@manchester.ac.uk

University of Manchester (S36) Politics in Times of Anxiety

Stefan Elbe
S.Elbe@sussex.ac.uk

University of Sussex (S20) Global Health and International Relations

Asli Ergul Jřrgensen
asli.ergul@ege.edu.tr

Ege University (S33) Non-Europeans' Europe: Between Violence and Amity

Alisher Faizullaev
alisher@faizullaev.com

University of World Economy and Diplomacy (S52) Symbolic Violence in Diplomatic Practice

Christopher Finlay
c.j.finlay@bham.ac.uk

University of Birmingham (S27) International Theory and the Ethics of Political Violence

Jonathan Gilmore
j.gilmore@kingston.ac.uk

Kingston University (S07) Crises of Inclination and Imagination? Ethics, Violence and the Politics of Protection

Andreas Gofas
a.gofas@gmail.com

Panteion University of Athens (S53) Terrorism as a Phenomenon and Object of Study

Penny Griffin
penny.griffin@unsw.edu.au

University of New South Wales (S40) 'Post' Interventions: Poststructuralism, Postcoloniality and Questions of 'After' in World Politics

Jairus Grove
jairusg@hawaii.edu

Hawaii University (S62) War - What Is It Good For?

Zeynep Gulsah Capan
zgulsah@gmail.com

University of Erfurt (S06) Construction(s) of the field of IR

Jonas Hagmann
hagmann@sipo.gess.ethz.ch

ETH Zurich (S38) The Politics of (In)Security: Securitization, Technocratisation or (Re)Politicisation?

Inanna Hamati-Ataya
inh3@aber.ac.uk

Aberystwyth University (S34) Philosophical perspectives on Emotions, Violence and Peace-building Processes

Hendrik Hegemann
hendrik.hegemann@uni-osnabrueck.de

University of Osnabrück (S38) The Politics of (In)Security: Securitization, Technocratisation or (Re)Politicisation?

Chris Hesketh
chesketh@brookes.ac.uk

Oxford Brookes University (S01) Antonio Gramsci: Violence, Coercion and Resistance

Aida Hozic
hozic@ufl.edu

University of Florida (S48) Scandalous Economics

Daniela Irrera
dirrera@unict.it

University of Catania (S50) Security Beyond the State: The Role of the EU

Julien Jeandesboz
J.A.Jeandesboz@uva.nl

University of Amsterdam (S57) Violence and Critical Approaches to Security

Knud-Erik Jřrgensen
KEJ@ps.au.dk

Aarhus University (S43) Reflecting a European Century of Violence: Reappraising Traditions of International Political Theory in Europe

Marcin Kaczmarski
m.kaczmarski@uw.edu.pl

University of Warsaw (S59) Violence in the Post-Soviet Area

Oliver Kessler
oliver.kessler@uni-erfurt.de

University of Erfurt (S60) Violence, Order and Constructivism

Margo Kleinfeld
kleinfem@uww.edu

University of Wisconsin - Whitewater (S16) Geographies of Humanitarian Protection: Engagements with Violence and Place

Ian Klinke
ian.klinke@ouce.ox.ac.uk

University of Oxford (S18) Geopolitics in Europe: Power, Crisis and the Return of Territory

Kai Koddenbrock
kai.koddenbrock@gmail.com

University of Aachen (S54) Theory and Critique of Capitalism

Natasha Kuhrt
natasha.kuhrt@kcl.ac.uk

King’s College London (S59) Violence in the Post-Soviet Area

Rahel Kunz
rahel.kunz@unil.ch

Université de Lausanne (S63) Worlds of Colonial Violence

Florian P. Kühn
florian.kuehn@sowi.hu-berlin.de

Humboldt University Berlin (S45) Resilience > LEGITIMACY < Resistance

Philippe Le Billon
philippe.lebillon@ubc.ca

University of British Columbia (S17) Geographies of Violence

Anna Leander
ale.mpp@cbs.dk

Copenhagen Business School (S02) Assembling Conflict Expertise: Competing Knowledges / Heterogeneous Experts

Halvard Leira
hl@nupi.no

Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (S22) Historical International Relations

Luis Lobo-Guerrero
l.e.lobo-guerrero@rug.nl

University of Groningen (S37) The Politics of Global Connectivities

Victoria M. Basham
v.m.basham@exeter.ac.uk

University of Exeter (S09) Critical Military Studies

Karin M. Fierke
kf30@st-andrews.ac.uk

University of St. Andrews (S19) Global Conversations

James Malcolm
james.malcolm@coventry.ac.uk

Coventry University (S30) Maritime Security

Leena Malkki
leena.Malkki@helsinki.fi

University of Helsinki (S05) Conflict Dynamics and Sub-State Political Violence: (Re)thinking Contentious Politics in Times of Unrest

Tina Managhan
tmanaghan@brookes.ac.uk

Oxford Brookes University (S29) The Legacy of Foucault in International Relations: Querying the Bases, Boundaries and Possibilities

Ana Margheritis
A.Margheritis@southampton.ac.uk

University of Southampton (S26) International Migration and the Visible and Invisible Forms of Violence

Cristina Masters
cristina.masters@manchester.ac.uk

University of Manchester (S47) Re-thinking, Re-imagining, Re-writing Sexual Violence

Matt McDonald
matt.mcdonald@uq.edu.au

University of Queensland (S13) Ethics and Security

Gillian McFadyen
gmm09@aber.ac.uk

Aberystwyth University (S44) Reflective Methodologies and the Challenge of Doing Methods

Audra Mitchell
audra.mitchell@york.ac.uk

University of York (S32) More-than-Human Worlds of Violence

Claudia Morsut
claudia.morsut@uis.no

University of Stavanger (S50) Security Beyond the State: The Role of the EU

Valbona Muzaka
valbona.muzaka@kcl.ac.uk

King’s College London (S51) The State and the Growth Conundrum in the Current Capitalist Crisis

Edward Newman
e.newman@leeds.ac.uk

University of Leeds (S14) Europe's Commitment to the Responsibility to Protect in a Changing World

Daniel H. Nexon
dhn2@georgetown.edu

Georgetown University (S41) Power Politics in History, Theory, and Contemporary Practice

Jonna Nyman
jonnaknyman@gmail.com

University of Leicester (S13) Ethics and Security

Donnacha Ó Beacháin
donnacha.obeachain@dcu.ie

Dublin City University (S31) Modes and Forms of Insurgency in the Contemporary World

Bruno Oliveira Martins
bruno@ps.au.dk

Aarhus University (S46) Rethinking International Security: Technology, Law and Theory

Luca Ozzano
luca.ozzano@unito.it

University of Turin (S55) Transnational Religion, Conflict and Dialogue

Stefania Panebianco
stefapnb@unict.it

University of Catania (S24) (In)security in the Global Mediterranean: Between Conflict and Cooperation

Michal Parízek
parizek@fsv.cuni.cz

Charles University (S42) Power Shifts and International Institutions

Lukas Pauer
lukas.pauer@gmail.com

RMIT University (S49) Securing the Atmospheric: On Shifting, Melting, Rising, and Geo-Engineered Boundaries

Simon Philpott
Simon.Philpott@ncl.ac.uk

Newcastle University (S39) Popular and Cultural Configurations of International Politics: Artifacts of the Popular Beyond Mimesis

Abel Polese
ap@tlu.ee

Tallinn University (S31) Modes and Forms of Insurgency in the Contemporary World

Jan Pospisil
jan.pospisil@oiip.ac.at

Austrian Institute for International Affairs (S45) Resilience > LEGITIMACY < Resistance

Gonzalo Pozo
gonzalopozomartin@gmail.com

King's College London (S18) Geopolitics in Europe: Power, Crisis and the Return of Territory

Sergei Prozorov
sergei.prozorov@helsinki.fi

University of Helsinki/Academy of Finland (S04) Biopolitics and Violence in International Relations

Francesco Ragazzi
f.ragazzi@fsw.leidenuniv.nl

University of Leiden (S57) Violence and Critical Approaches to Security

Nikolas Rajkovic
nikolas.Rajkovic@eui.eu

University of Kent (S28) Law's Violence

Jason Ralph
j.g.ralph@leeds.ac.uk

University of Leeds (S14) Europe's Commitment to the Responsibility to Protect in a Changing World

Frédéric Ramel
frederic.ramel@sciencespo.fr

Sciences Po Paris (S64) Writing International Relations by Other Means: Rethinking the Aesthetic Path

Roberto Roccu
roberto.roccu@kcl.ac.uk

King’s College London (S51) The State and the Growth Conundrum in the Current Capitalist Crisis

Doerthe Rosenow
drosenow@brookes.ac.uk

Oxford Brookes University (S29) The Legacy of Foucault in International Relations: Querying the Bases, Boundaries and Possibilities

Delf Rothe
rothe@ifsh.de

University of Hamburg (S56) Violence, Agency and Critique in a World of Complexity

Simon Rushton
simon.rushton@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield (S20) Global Health and International Relations

Felix Rösch
felix.roesch@coventry.ac.uk

Coventry University (S43) Reflecting a European Century of Violence: Reappraising Traditions of International Political Theory in Europe

Ole Jacob Sending
OJS@nupi.no

Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (S41) Power Politics in History, Theory, and Contemporary Practice

Nisha Shah
nisha.shah@uottawa.ca

University of Ottawa (S62) War - What Is It Good For?

Stuart Shields
stuart.shields@manchester.ac.uk

University of Manchester (S03) Beyond Production: Situating Social Reproduction ? Household, Community, Global Political Economy?

Robbie Shilliam
r.shilliam@qmul.ac.uk

Queen Mary University of London (S63) Worlds of Colonial Violence

Rashmi Singh
rs71@st-andrews.ac.uk

University of St Andrews (S53) Terrorism as a Phenomenon and Object of Study

Simon Springer
springer@uvic.ca

University of Victoria (S17) Geographies of Violence

Kelly Staples
kls25@leicester.ac.uk

University of Leicester (S07) Crises of Inclination and Imagination? Ethics, Violence and the Politics of Protection

Brent Steele
Brent.Steele@utah.edu

University of Utah (S60) Violence, Order and Constructivism

Matthew D. Stephen
matthew.stephen@wzb.eu

WZB Berlin Social Science Center (S42) Power Shifts and International Institutions

Daniela Tepe-Belfrage
d.tepe-belfrage@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield (S03) Beyond Production: Situating Social Reproduction ? Household, Community, Global Political Economy?

Jacqui True
jacqui.true@monash.edu

Monash University (S48) Scandalous Economics

Mandy Turner
director@kenyon-institute.org.uk

Kenyon Institute (S61) Violence, Resistance and Emancipation in World Politics: Comparative Perspectives

Bastiaan van Apeldoorn
e.b.van.apeldoorn@vu.nl

VU University Amsterdam (S12) Empires, Elites and War

Wanda Vrasti
wandavra@gmail.com

Humboldt University Berlin (S54) Theory and Critique of Capitalism

Louise Wiuff Moe
lomo@diis.dk

Danish Institute for International Studies (S21) Governance in Geopolitical Landscapes in Transition: Global Networks, Violence, and Order-Making

Owen Worth
owen.worth@ul.ie

University of Limerick (S08) Critical International Political Economy in a Turbulent World

Ole Wćver
ow@ifs.ku.dk

Copenhagen University (S02) Assembling Conflict Expertise: Competing Knowledges / Heterogeneous Experts

Marysia Zalewski
m.zalewski@abdn.ac.uk

University of Aberdeen (S47) Re-thinking, Re-imagining, Re-writing Sexual Violence

Andreja Zevnik
andreja.zevnik@manchester.ac.uk

University of Manchester (S36) Politics in Times of Anxiety

Yongjin Zhang
yongjin.zhang@bristol.ac.uk

University of Bristol (S58) Violence and the English School of IR